Fri. Jun 2nd, 2023

Summary: The English Amateur Championship is one of the most prestigious tournaments in amateur golf. The competition has been running since 1925 and has produced some of the best golfers in the world. In this article, we’ll take a closer look at the history of the championship, its format, notable winners, and what it takes to become a champion.

1. History of the English Amateur Championship

The English Amateur Championship is the oldest national amateur golf championship in the world. The first tournament was held in 1925 at Hoylake Golf Club. It was set up by the English Golf Union to find the best amateur golfer in England.

Since then, the championship has been held annually, except for the years during World War II. During the early years, the tournament was dominated by players from the south of England. However, over time, it has become more of a national event with winners from all parts of the country.

In recent years, the championship has become even more competitive, with many young and talented golfers aiming to follow in the footsteps of previous winners like Nick Faldo and Paul Casey.

2. The Format of the English Amateur Championship

The English Amateur Championship is played over five days and consists of both strokeplay and matchplay rounds. The first two days are devoted to strokeplay, with the top 64 golfers qualifying for the matchplay stage. The knockout rounds begin on the third day and continue until the final, which is played over 36 holes on the fifth day.

The course used for the tournament changes each year, with many of England’s most famous links courses having hosted the event. This means that the championship provides a test for different aspects of a player’s game as they adapt to different courses and conditions.

Golfers are required to have a handicap of 0.4 or better to enter the championship, and only amateurs are eligible to compete. This means that the event attracts some of the best amateur players from around the world.

3. Notable Winners of the English Amateur Championship

The English Amateur Championship has produced many notable winners over the years, including former Ryder Cup players and major champions. Some of the most successful golfers in the history of the championship include Michael Bonallack, who won the event five times between 1961 and 1972, and Sir Nick Faldo, who won in 1975 and 1976.

Other past winners include Peter McEvoy, who won the event four times in the 1970s and 1980s, and Paul Casey, who won in 1999 and 2000. More recently, the championship has been won by players like Harry Ellis in 2017 and Joe Long in 2020.

The list of champions is impressive, and many of these players have gone on to have successful professional careers. In fact, three former winners – Faldo, Casey, and Tommy Fleetwood – are currently ranked in the top 100 in the world rankings.

4. What It Takes to Win the English Amateur Championship

To win the English Amateur Championship, golfers need to be able to perform consistently over both strokeplay and matchplay rounds. This requires a combination of skill, mental toughness, and good decision-making on the course.

Players also need to be able to adapt to different courses and conditions throughout the tournament, as each qualifying course offers a unique set of challenges. Those who can successfully make this transition will be more likely to progress to the later stages of the competition.

Finally, golfers need to be able to handle the pressure of a high-profile event. With the whole golfing world watching, those who can perform under pressure and stay focused throughout the tournament will be more likely to succeed.


The English Amateur Championship is a tournament steeped in history and tradition. It provides an opportunity for amateur golfers from all over the world to showcase their skills and compete against the best in the business. The list of past winners is a testament to the event’s prestige, with many of the top amateurs and professionals having taken part over the years. To become a champion, golfers need to demonstrate a combination of skill, mental toughness, and adaptability, along with the ability to perform under pressure when it matters most.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *